Asteroid 2012 DA14 Misses Earth in Close Fly-By [Video]

NASA

Click for full-size image (Image credit: NASA/MSFC/Aaron Kingery)

This image shows asteroid 2012 DA14 and the Eta Carinae Nebula, with the white box highlighting the asteroid’s path. The image was taken using a 3″ refractor equipped with a color CCD camera. The telescope is located at the Siding Spring Observatory in Australia and is maintained and owned by iTelescope.net.

Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid

This movie shows the asteroid 2012 DA14 flying safely by Earth, as seen by the Gingin Observatory in Australia at 9:50 a.m. PST (12:50 p.m. EST/17:50 UTC), Feb. 15, 2013.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth, at approximately 11:25 a.m. PST (2:25 p.m. EST/19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth’s surface.

The asteroid appears streaked because the telescope was focused on the stars while the asteroid passed through the field of view. (Image courtesy of Gingin Observatory/Tonello)

 Approach of Asteroid 2012 DA14 from Samford Valley Observatory

This movie from the Samford Valley Observatory in Brisbane, Australia, shows the progress of asteroid 2012 DA14 across the night sky as it nears its closest approach. It was taken at 12:59 UTC on Feb. 15 (7:59 a.m. EST, or 4:59 a.m. PST). The movie has been sped up 50 times. (Credit: J. Bradshaw)

Approach of Asteroid 2012 DA14 as Seen by Murrumbateman Observatory

Movie from the Murrumbateman Observatory in Australia of asteroid 2012 DA14 during its close — but safe — flyby of Earth. The images were taken around 17:18 UTC (12:18 p.m. EST, or 9:18 a.m. PST) on Feb. 15, 2013. (Image credit: D. Herald)

Asteroid 2012 DA14 Flight Path

A narrated animation depicting the trajectory of asteroid 2012 DA14 as it travels within the Earth-moon system on Feb. 15, 2013.

Asteroid 2012 DA14 To Whiz Past Earth Safely

The small near-Earth asteroid 2012 DA14 will pass very close to Earth on Feb. 15, 2013. Asteroid 2012 DA14 will be closest to Earth at about 11:24 a.m. PST (2:24 p.m. EST and 1924 UTC), on Feb. 15, when it will be at a distance of about 27,700 kilometers (17,200 miles) above Earth’s surface. NASA’s Near-Earth Object Program Office can accurately predict the asteroid’s path with the observations obtained, and it is therefore known that there is no chance that the asteroid might be on a collision course with Earth. Nevertheless, the flyby will provide a unique opportunity for researchers to study a near-Earth object up close.

About Brent P.

Editor-in-Chief at TheRightPlanet.com, writer, tech editor, software engineer, web developer, graphic design, anti-Marxist, pro-American guitar shredding Glock owner.
This entry was posted in American Culture, Astronomy, Conservatism, Main-Stream Media, Physics, Science, Thermodynamics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.